Social Security Payment Schedule 2022: What Dates To Watch Out For




  • In Business
  • 2021-12-05 17:00:02Z
  • By GOBankingRates
SelectStock / Getty Images
SelectStock / Getty Images  

Social Security payments for next year are going to be a little larger than this year's - a total of 5.9% more, thanks to the largest cost-of-living adjustment increase in almost four decades. Surging inflation and unrelenting supply chain pressures have forced the Social Security Administration's hand in increasing benefits for seniors by an average of around $100 a month.

See: Social Security - How to Boost Your Benefit by $800
Find: How to Refinance a Mortgage

This is when you can expect your payments to hit each month:

  • If your birth date is on the 1st-10th: Second Wednesday of each month

  • If your birth date is on the 11th-20th: Third Wednesday of each month

  • If your birth date is on 21st-31st: Fourth Wednesday of each month

January 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: Jan. 12

  • Third Wednesday: Jan. 19

  • Fourth Wednesday: Jan. 26

February 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: Feb. 9

  • Third Wednesday: Feb. 16

  • Fourth Wednesday: Feb. 23

See: Senior Stimulus - Which Social Security Recipients Will Still Receive a Golden State Payment?
Find: 17 Tips to Live Comfortably off Just a Social Security Check

March 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: March 9

  • Third Wednesday: March 16

  • Fourth Wednesday: March 23

April 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: April 13

  • Third Wednesday: April 20

  • Fourth Wednesday: April 27

May 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: May 11

  • Third Wednesday: May 18

  • Fourth Wednesday: May 25

See: When Social Security Runs Out - What the Program Will Look Like in 2035
Find: Don't Have Much of a 401(k) or IRA? How Senior Citizens Build a Retirement Fund on a Fixed Income

June 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: June 8

  • Third Wednesday: June 15

  • Fourth Wednesday: June 22

July 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: July 13

  • Third Wednesday: July 20

  • Fourth Wednesday: July 27

August 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: Aug. 10

  • Third Wednesday: Aug. 17

  • Fourth Wednesday: Aug. 24

See: Social Security Administration's New Online Statements Could Help You Retire Early
Find: 25 Things to Sell When You're Ready to Retire

September 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: Sept. 14

  • Third Wednesday: Sept. 21

  • Fourth Wednesday: Sept. 28

October 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: Oct. 12

  • Third Wednesday: Oct. 19

  • Fourth Wednesday: Oct. 26

November 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: Nov. 9

  • Third Wednesday: Nov. 16

  • Fourth Wednesday: Nov. 23

See: Social Security - How Far in Advance Can I Apply?
Find: The 30 Greatest Threats to Your Retirement

December 2022 Payments:

  • Second Wednesday: Dec. 14

  • Third Wednesday: Dec. 21

  • Fourth Wednesday: Dec. 28

The increase goes into effect beginning Jan. 1 for Social Security beneficiaries and beginning Dec. 30 for SSI beneficiaries.

  • 5 Things Most Americans Don't Know About Social Security

  • Social Security: What Matters Most to You?

  • Navy Federal cashRewards Review: With Great Benefits Come Great Rewards

  • 15 Mortgage Questions To Ask Your Lender

This article originally appeared on GOBankingRates.com: Social Security Payment Schedule 2022: What Dates To Watch Out For

COMMENTS

More Related News

Social Security Optimization: Maximize Your Benefits Even if You Start Collecting Early
Social Security Optimization: Maximize Your Benefits Even if You Start Collecting Early

The rule of thumb for collecting Social Security benefits is the earlier you claim, the less you will receive via your monthly check. Conversely, the longer ...

Social Security: When Your Provisional Income Can Lead to 100% Tax-Free Benefits
Social Security: When Your Provisional Income Can Lead to 100% Tax-Free Benefits

If you get Social Security benefits but still earn income from other sources, it's important to be aware of how this so-called provisional income affects...

Which Social Security Recipients Will Get an Extra $200 in January?
Which Social Security Recipients Will Get an Extra $200 in January?

The 2022 COLA increases have been applied to new Social Security payments for January, and the first checks have already started to hit bank accounts. See...

17 Tips To Live Comfortably Off Just a Social Security Check
17 Tips To Live Comfortably Off Just a Social Security Check

Retiring from work and beginning to collect Social Security are two reasons to celebrate getting older. Although you are able to start collecting Social...

This Is the Average Social Security Benefit for 2022 With Added COLA
This Is the Average Social Security Benefit for 2022 With Added COLA

Social Security is getting a big change this year -- in fact, the largest one in almost four decades. See: Social Security Payment Schedule 2022 -- What...

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

Comments

Top News: Business