Who are the 9 House Republicans who voted to hold Steve Bannon in contempt?

  • In Politics
  • 2021-10-21 22:57:55Z

The House of Representatives Thursday voted to hold former White House chief strategist Steve Bannon in contempt of Congress for ignoring subpoenas from the House Select committee investigating the Jan. 6 insurrection at the U.S. Capitol building.

Bannon, who served under former President Donald Trump, was ordered last month to produce documents relevant to events leading up to the insurrection and appear for a deposition on Oct. 14.

He refused to cooperate under direction of lawyers representing Trump. The Select Committee voted unanimously Tuesday to hold Bannon in contempt.

More: Jan. 6 committee issues subpoenas to 4 in Trump's inner circle

The full house voted 229-202 with all Democrats in favor and most Republicans - except for nine - opposed. Speaker Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., will recommend the contempt report to the Justice Department, which will decide whether to prosecute Bannon.

Who are the GOP House members who voted to hold Bannon in contempt?

Seven voted to impeach Trump

Rep. Liz Cheney, R-Wyo.; Rep. Adam Kinzinger, R-Ill.; Rep. John Katko, R-N.Y.; Rep. Anthony Gonzalez, R-Ohio; Reps. Fred Upton and Peter Meijer of Michigan; and Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Wash. voted Thursday to hold Bannon in contempt and also voted to impeach Trump earlier this year.

Two others who voted in favor of holding Bannon in contempt, Reps. Nancy Mace, R-S.C. and Brian Fitzpatrick, R-Pa., did not vote to impeach the former president.

Rep. Greg Pence, R-Ind., the brother of former Vice President Mike Pence, who was specifically targeted by rioters on Jan. 6, did not vote Thursday.

Members may face political consequences for their vote

Some who voted to hold Bannon in contempt will not run for reelection in 2022.

Gonzalez announced earlier this month that he will not seek reelection next fall. Katko has floated the possibility of running for governor in New York. And it is unclear whether Upton, who has served in Congress since 1986, will run again.

Others, such as Cheney and Kinzinger - both members of the bipartisan Jan. 6 Select Committee - have announced plans to run for reelection next year against heavy opposition. Herrera Beutler and Meijer also hope to retain their seats in Congress.

Contributing: The Associated Press

Reach out to Chelsey Cox on Twitter at @therealco.

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: The nine House Republicans who voted to hold Steve Bannon in contempt


More Related News

A reality check on free at-home COVID tests
A reality check on free at-home COVID tests

The Biden administration's decision to require health insurance companies to cover the cost of at-home COVID-19 tests is part of a national effort to more...

Biden's push against sanctions on Russia's pipeline puts Democrats in a bind

The Biden admin is pressing Democrats to reject sanctions on Russia's Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline, even as it warns Moscow to pull back troops from Ukraine.

Voting rights advocates frustrated by
Voting rights advocates frustrated by 'same-old, same-old' meeting with White House

Participants lament apparent lack of strategy from Biden to address filibuster and get voting rights bills passed Kamala Harris discussed voting rights with ...

Biden, allies increasingly pushing back at GOP
Biden, allies increasingly pushing back at GOP's virus barbs
  • US
  • 2021-12-03 05:22:16Z

President Joe Biden looked out over an audience of government scientists and framed his latest plan for fighting COVID-19 as an opportunity to at last put an...

Biden blasted for reviving Trump
Biden blasted for reviving Trump's Remain in Mexico policy

Activists warn restoring 'Remain in Mexico' at the border will result in "torture, rape, and death".

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply


Top News: Politics